Once you’ve deleted a photo, video or any other media including screenshots or gifs from your iPhone, either from the Photos app or directly from the camera after taking the shot, they don’t get deleted permanently. Instead, they move shifted to a separate folder in your device where they’re stored temporarily before being removed from your iPhone, iPad or iPod permanently.
While the media in this temporary folder gets permanently deleted after a period of up to 40 days, you can recover them by accessing the recently deleted folder or even delete them permanently before their scheduled removal.
In this article, we’ve explained how you can access recently deleted photos on your iPhone, iPad and iPod and also how you can permanently delete them manually or recover them.
Access recently deleted photos on iPhone or iPad
To access any media that you recently deleted, go to the Photos app on your iPhone, iPad or iPod and follow the steps mentioned below.
- On the Photos app, tap on Albums option from the toolbar at the bottom.
- Then scroll down and tap on Recently Deleted under Other Albums.
- On the next page, you’ll see all the recently deleted photos and videos alongwith the remaining number of days before permanent removal.
- If you want to delete or recover all of them, tap on the Select option at the top-right of the display and then tap on either Delete All or Recover All buttons at the bottom.
Also read: How to turn off Find My iPhone on iOS 13?
Recover or permanently delete a single photo from recently deleted
To recover or permanently delete a single photo or video, long press on it to enlarge and then select either the Delete or Recover option.
Recover or permanently delete multiple photos from recently deleted
To select multiple media files, tap on the Select button at the top-right and then tap on the files to choose them for permanent deletion or recovery. Then tap on the Delete or Recover option.