Skip to content

How to deactivate or delete your Airbnb account?

  • by
  • 4 min read

San Francisco- based Airbnb is arguably the leader in online marketplaces offering lodgings, homestays and several other experiences for tourists worldwide with over 7 million available accommodations and 40,000 activities across 220 countries, accessible in 62 languages.

If you’ve been either a guest or a host on Airbnb but want a break from the service, here is a simple guide to help you deactivate or delete your Airbnb account in a few simple steps.

How to deactivate your Airbnb account?

Go to the desktop version of Airbnb’s website on your browser and follow the steps below to deactivate your Airbnb account.

Step 1: Click on your profile picture on the top-right of the screen and then click on Account from the dropdown menu.Step 2:  On the next page, scroll to the bottom to find Need to deactivate your account? and click on Take care of that now link below it.

Step 3: Select a reason why you want to deactivate your Airbnb account and click on Continue.Step 4: Click on Deactivate account. Once you deactivate your Airbnb account, any reservations that you might have either as a guest or a host will be cancelled; your profile will be hidden, any host listings will be hidden too. However, your reviews will still be visible to others on Airbnb, and the company will retain your account data so that you’re able to reactivate it in the future.

Also read: 7 best offline music apps for Android

How to delete your Airbnb account?

Click here and follow the steps below to delete your Airbnb account.

Step 1: Click on the My Airbnb account button.Step 2: On the next page, click on the Choose button beside Update or remove account.Step 3: On the next page, click on the Choose button beside Delete or deactivate my account.Step 4: On the next page, you’ll see separate buttons for deactivating and deleting your account. Click on Delete my account and follow the on-screen instructions.

Alternative Step 4: If you don’t see the delete button, click on I still need help (as shown in the screenshot below).Step 5: On the next page, click on the Choose button beside either Message us or Call us. And proceed with the on-screen instructions. After receiving the deletion request, Airbnb will first verify your identity for security, and once the request is accepted, the deletion will begin. However, the company might retain some of your data that they are legally required to or legally permitted to retain.

Once you delete your Airbnb account, similar to deactivation, any reservations that you might have either as a guest or a host will be cancelled. Things such as reviews or messages sent to other users will still be visible. The company also mentions that they might de-identify or disassociate your data so that it no longer is associated with you instead of deleting.

Once deleted, the account can’t be reactivated, no data can be recovered, and you’ll need to create a new account to use Airbnb again.

Also read: How to delete your Oyo account?

Prayank

Writes news mostly and edits almost everything at Candid.Technology. He loves taking trips on his bikes or chugging beers as Manchester United battle rivals. Contact Prayank via email: prayank@pm.me

>
Exit mobile version