Skip to content

How to delete a Google site?

  • by
  • 4 min read

Creating websites has never been easier due to free tools like Google Sites. A website’s importance as an easy-to-access information hub or an avenue for showcasing skills makes it invaluable for many.

But perhaps, the free service no longer meets your requirements or should you want to delete your website read this guide to learn how. This guide has been made by referring to the new Google Sites Creator Tool.

To delete a website head over to Google Sites and follow either of the methods listed below.

Deleting a Google Site

Step 1: Locate the site that needs to be removed.

Step 2: Click on the three dots icon and select Remove.

Removed websites are located in Google Drive’s Trash section. From here they can be restored or deleted forever by emptying the bin.

Websites made with Classic Creator Tool can only be recovered 30 days after the day of deletion.

Also read: How to manage your Google Drive storage?

Unpublish a Google Site

If you don’t want to remove the Google site alongwith all its data, you can alternatively unpublish the site so that it’s unavailable to the public on the internet.

Step 1: Click on a site to enter the editor view.

Step 2: Expand the action menu under the Publish button.

Step 3: Click on Unpublish.

This will make the site inaccessible for viewers but you can still publish it later.

Also read: What is a secret chat in Telegram? How to start a secret chat?

Things to consider before deleting a website

Create an Announcement Banner

This feature allows website owners to inform their visitors about any changes or announcements concerning the website.

Step 1: Click on the gear-shaped (settings) icon in the top-right.

Step 2: Navigate to Announcement banner.

Step 3: Set up the banner to display a message and configure it according to requirements.

You can edit the following elements:

  • Message: Includes information that has to be passed onto viewers — it has a limit of 150 characters.
  • Banner Colour: Decides the colour of the block in which the announcement appears.
  • Button: An interactive entity which can be linked to a different website.
  • Visibility: Decides where the banner will be visible on the website.

Also read: 5 easy ways to check your iPhone’s IMEI number

Delete specific pages

Step 1: Click on Pages.

Step 2: Locate the page you want to delete and click on three dots icon to expand the action menu.

Step 3: Click on Delete.

Also read: How to change the language in Google Chrome?

Aryan Surendranath

Has an interest in technology and video games. When not doing anything related to either of these you will find him with his books, educational or not.

>
Exit mobile version