Gmail is one of the most popular email services with millions of users worldwide. It also easily incorporates other Google services and helps you get the job done. Gmail lets you label your emails according to your convenience.
Earlier these were called folders but have been changed into labels to make them easier to access and use.
In this article, we’re taking a look at deleting any custom labels you might have made in Gmail.
Deleting Gmail labels
Deleting Gmail labels is extremely easy. All you have to do is open Gmail, log in to your account and then scroll the top left panel until you find the label you want to delete. Once you’ve got the label, click on the three vertical dots next to it and click Remove label.
At the moment, you can’t remove labels on the mobile app yet, but once you’ve removed a label using a web browser, it’ll automatically sync with the phone app. If it doesn’t, check your email label sync settings to refresh the labels on the Gmail app on your phone.
Also, keep in mind that deleting a label doesn’t delete the emails it carries. Once a label has been deleted, all emails under that label are moved to your primary inbox.
Alternatively, if you’re looking to modify a label, you can do that by clicking the three vertical dots next to the label and clicking Edit.
Here you can change the label’s name and nest it under any other labels if you want. Other than that, you can also choose whether or not you wish to hide a label or change its colour from the options menu accessible by clicking the three vertical dots next to a label.