Skip to content

How to know if someone blocked you on FB Messenger?

  • by
  • 3 min read

Long before Facebook release individual Messenger apps for Android and iOS users, Facebook provided an option to block your friends which would eventually lead to them being unfriended. This way they would not be able to contact you again via Facebook. However, since Messenger came around in 2011, some of the features that revolve around blocking have changed.

In this article, we will be discussing how you can recognise when someone blocks you on Facebook’s Messenger app.

Also read: What does Bump mean on Facebook Messenger? 


Signs behind blocking

While other social media apps can be cryptic about informing you when someone blocks or restricts you on them, Facebook Messenger is spot on with the indication. Firstly, if someone has blocked you on Facebook Messenger, it does not necessarily mean that they have done so on the Facebook platform. There is an option on Messenger to block the person separately, on Messenger and on Facebook by tapping on the ‘i’ icon circle at the top-right corner present within every chat.

If you are blocked only on Facebook, your calls and messages will be blocked and you will be unfriended which means, you will not be able to view their posts, stories, and videos. If you are blocked only on Messenger, then you can expect the following indications:

Messenger

On Messenger, if someone has blocked you then you will be shown This person is unavailable on Messenger message instead of a message box. This means that you will not be able to make or receive messages or calls from the person who has blocked you. This is a clear sign of them having blocked you on Messenger.

There might be a situation where the person is simply unavailable and has not blocked you. Hence, you can check the delivery status of your previous messages with them or from other chats to compare if your messages have been delivered or read by the person who has blocked you.

  • Empty circle without anything inside: Your message hasn’t been sent probably due to network issues.
  • Empty circle with check sign: Your message has been sent but has not been delivered to the recipient as they may not be logged in or they have blocked you.
  • Filled circle with check sign: Your message has been delivered but the recipient has not seen it yet.
  • Circle with profile picture: Your message has been read by the recipient.

Messenger on desktop

You can also check your messages on facebook’s website. This also gives you an outlet to check if our questionable suspect has blocked you on Facebook. You can check this by going to their profile. If they haven’t you can reconfirm their Messenger blocking by clicking on the Messenger icon at the top-right corner of your screen.

From the list of friends shown, click on the one whom you suspect has blocked you. If you are still being shown that This person is unavailable on Messenger text, then they have solely blocked you on Messenger.

Also read: What happens when you restrict someone on Messenger?

Sania Usmani

Always curious, calm, and a little crazy, you can find me daydreaming or studying. An avid reader, traveler, and graduate of Aviation Science, I love gaining new experiences in life and star gazing. You can contact her here: sania_5008@proton.me

>
Exit mobile version