Skip to content

How to stop sharing location without notifying on iMessage?

  • by
  • 4 min read

As messaging apps like iMessage have become more popular, sharing your location in real-time has become a handy feature. But there are moments when you might want to keep your location private without letting others know. Whether it’s because of personal reasons or just a choice you make, understanding how to manage your location settings without drawing attention to it can be helpful.

This article discusses how to stop sharing location in iMessage for a single contact and all contacts on iPhone and macOS.

Below we have discussed:

Also read: How to create and send a poll on iMessage?


How to stop sharing location with a single contact?

Below we have explained the steps to stop sharing location for a single contact on iPhone, iPad and macOS:

Stop sharing location with a single contact on iPhone

To stop sharing location with a single contact on your iPhone follow the steps below:

  • Open the iMessage app on your iPhone and open the conversation with the person with whom you don’t want to share your location anymore.
  • Tap on the Contact’s Profile icon located at the top of the screen.
  • Tap on the Stop Sharing My Location option.

The person you’re messaging will get a notification in the iMessage app about this change, and you can switch back anytime by following the initial steps and selecting Start Sharing My Location.


Stop sharing location with a single contact on macOS

To stop sharing location with a single contact on your Mac follow the steps below:

  • Step 1: Open the Messages app on your Mac and select the contact with whom you want to stop sharing your location.
  • Step 2: Click on the i (info) icon available at the top right corner of the screen.
  • Step 3: A dropdown menu will appear, click on the Stop Sharing My Location option.

How to stop sharing location with all contacts on iPhone?

The techniques mentioned earlier stop sharing your location with specific contacts. However, if you want to stop sharing with everyone, you have a couple of options. You can either activate Airplane Mode, which is temporary or disable location sharing entirely in your device’s Location Services settings.

Enable Airplane mode

Here are the steps to enable the Airplane mode on your iPhone:

  • Go to the settings app and turn the toggle on beside the Airplane Mode.
  • Alternatively, you can swipe up to open the control centre and tap on the Airplane mode icon to enable it.

Disable Location services

Here are the steps to disable the Location services on your iPhone:

  • Open the Settings app on your iPhone and tap on the Privacy option.
  • Tap on the Location Services option.
  • Now, turn the toggle off beside the Location Services.

FAQs

Can you fake your location on your iPhone?

Apple doesn’t endorse or support faking your location on an iPhone officially. If you want to do it, you’ll have to download and install a third-party app that promises to do so, or you could jailbreak your device as an alternative, which isn’t recommended if the iPhone in question is your primary device and you’re new to jailbreaking.


Can someone track your phone’s location if the Location services are off?

If you turn off Location Services, it makes tracking you more difficult, but not entirely impossible. It might deter most ordinary people from tracking your whereabouts, but they have other means if you’re trying to evade law enforcement or other government agencies. These could involve accessing cellphone tower data, public Wi-Fi providers capturing your MAC address or using devices like Stingrays, which mimic cell towers.

Also read: Why does my iMessage keep turning off?

Akash Singh

Akash is a law graduate who likes to go for bike rides on the weekends soul-searching for answers to his many existential questions. You can contact him here: singhakash95@pm.me

>
Exit mobile version