Facebook-owned messaging service Whatsapp is one of the most popular apps in its segment with over 1.5 billion active users, that dwarf its nearest competition by miles. India happens to be a major market for Whatsapp, with an estimated 400 million active users on the platform and more joining in every day.
Moreover, WhatsApp is accessible on all the platform — Android, iOS as well as on the web. But, just like in real life, it’s possible you need some space and don’t want some people to know if you’ve read their message or haven’t. So, we are here with a simple guide to explain how you can turn off the read receipts in WhatsApp that’ll turn off the blue ticks on the app.
How to turn off read receipts?
To turn off read receipts (also known as, blue tick) in WhatsApp, follow the instructions given below.
- Open WhatsApp on your device.
- Now, tap on the three-dot button at the top right of the screen.
- From the drop-down menu, tap on the Settings option.
- In the Settings menu, go to Privacy option at the top.
- Now, turn off the toggle beside Read receipts option.
When you are done with the above steps, you will notice that there will be no blue tick, either on the messages that you receive or on the messages that you send.
What happens when you turn off the read receipts?
After you have turned off the read receipts option, the following things happen.
- You will not see the blue tick on the messages. This means that others will not know whether you have seen the messages or not. Similar will be the case with you.
- You cannot know who viewed your status. Also, others will not know if you saw their status.
Also read: How to verify your WhatsApp Business account
Why are you not seeing the read receipts?
Here is a list of scenarios because of which you might not see the read receipts on your device.
- The person might have blocked you. In this case, you will see a single tick on your messages.
- Either you or the other person has turned off the read receipts. In this case, you will see a double tick on the messages without the blue tick. While double tick is a sort of a confirmation that the message has been sent, there is no way to be sure whether the other person has read the messages or not.
- The recipient has not yet read your messages, but the internet connection is fine, and you are not blocked. In this case, you will see a double tick on the messages.
- Their mobile might or the internet connection might be turned off. In this case, you will see a single tick.
Hope you liked the article. We have covered more such articles, do check them on our Tech Basic section.
Former Senior Editor at Candid.Technology. Hemant has a keen interest in social issues and international relations.