Skip to content

What does the lock mean on Snapchat?

Snapchat is one of the most popular messaging apps and social media platforms and is primarily known for its privacy-centric features such as disappearing messages and screenshot notifications.

However, many other similar features are scattered around the app that many people don’t know about. In this article, we’re talking about what the lock means on Snapchat?

Also read: How to screenshot on Snapchat without them knowing?


Lock icon on Snapchat

If you’ve created a private story on Snapchat before, you’ll see it show up under the story option every time you’re sending your snaps out. The lock icon essentially represents your private story.

Private Stories are when only a selected group of people can see what you’ve posted on your story, much like Close Friends on Instagram. Now Snapchat allows you to create up to 10 private stories, meaning you can pick who you want to share your stories with on the platform and share with different groups of people as and when you see fit. 

Your friends using Android will see your Private Story differently than the normal one; however, friends on iOS will see them in the same place. 

Here’s how to make a private story.

What does the lock mean on Snapchat?
  • Open Snapchat and take a snap. Once you’re done, tap the Send button.
  • Now tap the Private Story button at the top right.
  • Select the friends you want to add to the private story and tap the Create Story button.
  • Once you’ve saved your story with a name, it’ll show up on the send screen with the lock icon.

Also read: Snapchat’s my eyes only: Everything you need to know

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. We're an ad-supported publication. So, if you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.







>