Skip to content

What happens when you delete Snapchat?

  • by
  • 3 min read

Snapchat has been a favoured social networking app for users worldwide since its launch in 2011. The app allows users to send timer-based photos and videos. This helps users maintain a snap streak and exchange emojis and stickers based on their snap avatar. If you are a regular or new user of Snapchat, there might still be various features that you are unaware of.

In this article, we will highlight the various features you might miss out on if you delete Snapchat and what happens when you delete Snapchat.

Also read: How to deactivate and delete your Snapchat account?


Key Snapchat features

The features that Snapchat brings to your social media lifestyle are practical today. The concept of transient photos and videos displays the true nature of time; moments are temporary, so capture them when you can. Snapchat helps friends and family stay in touch by exchanging messages, photos, and videos automatically deleted after 24 hours unless saved. The features listed below show the consequences of deleting your Snapchat account:

  • All of your saved memories in Snapchat’s cloud will vanish.
  • Your Snap Streak with friends will break.
  • You will lose all of your saved messages.
  • Your cute Bitmoji avatar will be permanently deleted.
  • Access to hundreds of filters and AR lenses.
  • Your Snap Score will be erased.
  • Any Snap trophies that you have earned will be wasted.
  • Using the Snap Map to see the location of your friends around the world even when your location is not enabled.
  • Your friends will no longer be able to find you on Snapchat and their snaps will be left undelivered.

Also read: What happens when you mute someone on Instagram?


Deleting Snapchat

If you decide to delete Snapchat for personal reasons, Snapchat will inform you how long it would take them to delete your entire history. If you want to delete your story, remove a friend, chat, or delete individual messages instead, then you do not need to delete your entire account.

How to deactivate and delete your Snapchat account?

Snapchat will ask you to fill in your email and password before you proceed with account deletion. Further, they will inform you that all of your data, including memories, snaps, and other information, will be wiped from their servers after 30 days of submission of the deletion request. Your account will remain deactivated for 30 days. Snapchat will keep some information for business, security, or legal reasons.

However, if you change your mind, you can always revoke the deletion request by logging in and saving your account from being deleted completely. This will reactivate your account. You can contact Snapchat’s support team if you are facing any issues.

Also read: What happens if you delete the Snapchat app?

Sania Usmani

Always curious, calm, and a little crazy, you can find me daydreaming or studying. An avid reader, traveler, and graduate of Aviation Science, I love gaining new experiences in life and star gazing. You can contact her here: sania_5008@proton.me

>
Exit mobile version