Skip to content

How to choose the information synced to Google Chrome and how to delete it

With the way technology works in today’s world, all of one’s information or preferences are in constant motion. The information presented on certain platforms slowly make its way around onto all of one’s devices; this is known as data syncing.

Syncing of data plays a more prominent role in one’s life than they think. It allows one to use multiple devices on the go with parity amongst them saving one the trouble of having to reconfigure a device from the start.

With all the information stored online, keeping a tab on it is very important, and this article will tell you about how to choose the info synced on Chrome and how to delete it.

What information is synced?

One finds themselves using Chrome for everything, from searches for food recipes to performing online transactions, this information, along with bookmarks is stored and synced. Chrome increases its functionality with extensions developed by others, and even these can be synced across compatible devices.

Chrome stores the following data and syncs it across all of one’s devices –

  • History
  • Tabs and bookmarks
  • Passwords
  • Credit card info
  • User settings
  • Themes
  • Extensions

The steps to choosing what information is stored are simple, but first, if one has not already set up the sync system, the steps to do so have been mentioned below mentioned.

Also read: Top 5 alternatives to Google Chrome that value your privacy

Steps to set up sync info in Chrome

We are presuming that an account has been signed into before performing these steps.

Step 1: Click on the ‘three dots’ option present in the right top corner.

How to choose the information synced to Chrome and how to delete itStep 2: Click on the settings option.

How to choose the information synced to Chrome and how to delete itStep 3: The above step brings up the people menu where a button to turn sync on can be seen.

How to choose the information synced to Chrome and how to delete itThese steps will have set up one’s account to sync all information across available devices. A passphrase different from the user’s login password can also be set to encrypt all data.

 

How to choose what information is synced

When a user performs the sync set up, all types of data is set to be synchronised by default. To decide what information one wants to have synced across all their devices, they should follow the steps mentioned below :

Step 1: Click on the ‘Manage sync’ option which is available after one has selected the settings option.

How to choose the information synced to Chrome and how to delete itStep 2: Uncheck the sync everything box and proceed to choose what information to sync.

How to choose the information synced to Chrome and how to delete it

How to delete synced information

Deleting the synced information is as easy as it gets, one can follow the steps mentioned below to do so.

Step 1: Select the ‘Data from Chrome sync’ option.

How to choose the information synced to Chrome and how to delete itStep 2: Scroll down to the bottom of the page and select the ‘Reset Sync’ option.

How to choose the information synced to Chrome and how to delete it

Also read: How to block a website on Google Chrome?

Hello there

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. If you’re running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us. 







>