Lyft is currently the second-largest cab and delivery service after Uber, based in California. It mainly operates in the United States and Canada and holds a market share of almost 32%.
According to the company’s privacy and data policy, deleting a Lyft account doesn’t mean that your account and data will be permanently deleted from their data servers unless you make an official request on the Lyft support platform.
In this article, we’re looking at what happens when you delete your Lyft account and how you can permanently delete your Lyft account.
Also read: How to delete Walmart account?
What happens when you delete Lyft account?
Whether you have a rider or a driver account, the process of account and data removal from the Lyft servers can take up to a maximum of 45 days, according to the Lyft online helpdesk. It is also important to note that the account deletion process cannot be reversed.
If the company servers require more time to delete your account upon a request permanently, they will inform you why and give you a definite timeline according to which your account and data will be permanently deleted.
How to delete your Lyft account?
Keep in mind that deleting your Lyft account on your mobile app will only deactivate your account for the time being. This is useful in case you ever want to reactivate your account.
Your data is not permanently lost unless you request for the Lyft servers to do so, which might take up to 45 days, as mentioned above.
Deleting Lyft accout from the browser
Here’s how you can delete your Lyft account on your PC:
Step 1: Log in to your Lyft account from your web browser.
Step 2: Head over to Privacy and Account Settings.
Step 3: Click on Delete My Account.
Deleting Lyft account using the app
With all that being said, here’s how you can delete your Lyft account on your phone:
- Open the Lyft app on the three horizontal bars on top of your screen and head over to the Help option.
- Scroll through the menu and tap on Profile and account settings.
- Finally, hit the Delete my account option.
After your account is deleted, you’ll receive a confirmation message.
Also read: How to get rid of Recaptcha on Omegle?