Telegram is one of the most popular text messaging apps around. The app is hailed for its capabilities, such as having 200,000 people in a group and security features that give it an edge over the competition.
In terms of messaging and other services, the app’s format resembles the popular online messaging platform WhatsApp quite a lot. Many Telegram features are very closely related to the features of WhatsApp, including the ways to find out if someone has blocked you on the app.
Also read: How to delete Telegram messages?
Have you been blocked by someone on Telegram?
Here are some ways to check if you’ve been blocked by someone on Telegram or not.
Unavailable last seen online
When a contact blocks you, you wouldn’t see their online status. All you’ll get to see in place of the online status is Seen a long time ago message.
Since Telegram automatically deletes inactive accounts after six months, it’s a pretty good indication that you’ve been blocked if it’s been longer than that.
Profile picture not visible
Similar to WhatsApp, if someone on Telegram blocks you, you would not see their profile picture.
Instead, you would see the first initial of their name. This way, you can be certain that they have blocked you by the person on Telegram.
Usually, when you send a message to someone on Telegram, you would find a double tick beside your message, which indicates that your message has been received by the individual you’re texting.
If someone over the app has blocked you, you will find only a single tick beside your message; you can take this as a confirmation.
Unable to initiate voice or video calling
Telegram automatically displays an Unable to connect message if you’re trying to initiate a video or voice call with someone who has blocked you on the app.
Hence, to make sure that you have certainly been blocked by someone over the app, you can try and initiate a voice or video call with them.
Also read: How to backup Telegram chats?