Skip to content

How to set, edit and delete a Google alert?

With tons of things are happening all around the world, which may, in some way, affect you in the future, keeping yourself updated is a necessity in today’s world. Gone are the days, when one had to rely on the morning newspapers to know about the global news. We are living in an era of information explosion where time is a commodity.

Google Alert is one such service which allows you to remain updated with the topics of your choice. In this article, we explain how you can create, edit as well as delete Google Alert.

How to set or create a Google Alert?

To set a Google alert, follow the steps mentioned below.

Step 1: Go to Google.com/alerts.Step 2: Here, search for the topic for which you wish to receive updates.Step 3: This is a critical step. Click on the Show options tab to customise the alerts. You can choose the frequency of the alert — once a day, once a week or as it happens. Similarly, you can select the source of the alerts, language, region as well as the quantity of the news alerts that you want to see. Step 4: Type your email address and then click on Create Alert.

Google will ask you to login with your account (if you have not already done that). Once you are done, click on Create Alert again.

Also read: How to setup the homepage in Firefox?

How to edit Google Alert?

In case you want to edit or change the previous alerts that you have created, you will have to follow the steps mentioned below.

Step 1: Sign in with your Google account and then go to Google.com/alert.Step 2: Click on the inverted pen icon on the right of the alert.Step 3: Type the name of the alert as well as set the frequency, quantity and source of the alert. You can also set whether you want the alert on your email or the RSS feed. Step 4: When you are done, click on Update alert.

Also read: Top 7 Instagram alternatives

How to delete a Google Alert?

Tired of all the information or got some alerts scheduled that you don’t need anymore? You can delete the Google Alert by following the steps given below. But, remember to first sign in with your Google Account.

  • Go to Google.com/alert.
  • Click on the bin icon at the extreme right of the alert.

If you deleted the alert by mistake, quickly click on the Undo option at the top, which comes right after you have pressed the bin icon.

Also read: How to download files or folder from Dropbox?

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. We're an ad-supported publication. So, if you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.







>