Canada-based Kik Messenger is one of the most popular instant messaging services in the region and enjoys a niche userbase, majorly owed to its anonymous sign-up offering. which allowed users to join via an email ID on the Android or iOS app.
If you’re not comfortable being contacted by someone on the app and want to stop someone from doing so, like any other messaging app, Kik Messenger also allows its users to block others on the app from contacting them. While you can report a user too, blocking offers more control over how someone is able to interact with you using Kik in the future.
If you’re not sure whether you should block someone on Kik and what it entails, here we explain exactly what happens when you block someone on Kik.
Once you’ve blocked someone on Kik, their messages won’t be delivered to you, including those sent using any bots that they’ve added to a chat with you. Bot mentions from blocked users will also be disabled.
The other person won’t be notified that you’ve blocked them. Any blocked user, however, will still be able to see any changes that you make to your profile picture in the future.
In mutual groups, the messages from that person as well as a bot set by that person won’t appear in your chat. Instead, you’ll see **Blocked Message**.
If you want to see a list of all the people you’ve blocked, go to your app’s Settings > Privacy > Block List. You can block more people or unblock someone on Kik using this list too.
To block someone, you can also go to your chat with them, tap on their name at the top of the chat, then tap on More icon > Block (username) > Block.
Yatharth is the Marketing Head at Candid.Technology. He sometimes writes about Apple, Gaming and Social Platforms and also indulges in offbeat tech stuff from time to time.
Contact Yatharth via email: [email protected]