Skip to content

How to delete Telegram account?

Telegram is a cloud-based messaging app that has garnered attention in recent years. With over 200 million active user base and some of the significant privacy features which the app provides, Telegram has created a niche user base for itself in the face of popular services and fierce competitors like WhatsApp. In case you are overwhelmed with too much social media engagement and want to take a break, we are here to explain how to delete your Telegram account.

There are two methods using which you can delete your Telegram account permanently — either after a period of inactivity or instantly. Below we’ve compiled a step-by-step guide to take you through both the processes.

Delete account after a period of inactivity

You can use this method if you want to delete Telegram account; however, you will have to provide a time frame within which, if you are not active on Telegram, then the account will be deleted automatically.

To use this approach, follow the steps given below.

  • On the top left corner of the screen, tap on the three-line menu button.
  • In the drop-down menu, tap on Settings.
  • Now, select the Privacy and Security option.
  • Here, click on Delete my account if away for option.
  • Select the period — 1 month, 3 months, 6 months,1 year. As you can see, the minimum time limit to delete the account is one month.
  • Once selected, you will have to be away from Telegram for the time chosen previously, and voila! Your account will be deleted.

Also Read: Top 7 Telegram channels for cryptocurrency

Delete account instantly

With this method, you can delete your account immediately. To use this method, follow the steps given below.

Step 1: Go to my.telegram.org/auth from your computer or mobile.

Step 2: Enter your phone number with the correct country code. (For, eg. Telegram users in India should write +91 before entering their number)

Step 3: After entering the number, you will receive a message containing authorisation code on your Telegram.

Step 4: Enter the code in the space provided below the phone number.

Step 5: On the next window, select Delete Account.

Step 6: On the next page, fill out the information under the Why are you leaving? box and click on Delete My Account button.

Once you’ve deleted your Telegram account, you won’t be able to retrieve the information — chats and contacts — and all the groups created by your will be orphaned; however, group admins will retain their rights. Once you delete the account, you might not be able to sign up to Telegram again for several days.

Also Read: Top 11 Telegram bots

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. If you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on linkedin
Share on pocket
Share on pinterest
Share on telegram
Share on stumbleupon
Share on digg
Share on tumblr
Share on email
Share on delicious
Share on skype







>