Social networks allow you to connect with long-lost friends as well as those of your close ones who live afar, but alongwith all the good that this virtual connectivity brings, things can potentially go awry at any given point in time; because let’s face it, although virtual networks rekindle connections, they can’t replace being around a person physically.
Like a majority of other social networks and even instant messaging apps, Facebook also allows you to block someone, but the person who has been blocked isn’t notified of this action, which is normal. But at a certain level, a person who might’ve deactivated their account might seem like they’re blocking you due to some similarities in how Facebook displays their profile to you.
So, to avoid any misconception, here is how you can know if someone has blocked you on Facebook or whether they’ve just deactivated or deleted their profile, among other scenarios.
To give you a gist of things, once someone blocks you on Facebook, you won’t be able to
- See their posts
- Tag them in posts, comments or photos
- Invite them to events to groups
- Message them
- Add them as a friend
- View their Stories
Can you search for their profile?
You won’t be able to search for the profile of the person who has blocked you on Facebook, and they won’t be able to search yours either.
Unless the other person has blocked Google from indexing their Facebook profile, you’ll still be able to find them through a Google search, and the same goes for them.
However, the same is true for when someone deactivates their profile — you won’t be able to find it and Facebook will return a “Sorry, this content isn’t available right now” error message.
You can give it another try and search for the profile of the person who has blocked you in one of your mutual’s friend list. If you don’t see the concerned person there, chances are they’ve blocked you.
Since we’re on the topic of mutual friends, you can ask one of them or just any of your other friends who still have a Facebook profile to check to see if the concerned person’s profile (who you think has blocked you) is visible to them.
What happens to posts, likes and comments?
Once you’ve been blocked by someone, you won’t be able to see any posts that they publish on their timeline. In addition to that, any past likes or comments will also be hidden from your feed.
Even if you’re liking or commenting on a mutual friend’s post, you won’t be able to see their comment and they won’t be able to see yours. You won’t be able to see a post shared by your mutual friends that was originally published by the person who has blocked you.
Basically, both the person who has blocked you and your profile will be hidden from each other’s view. However, other Facebook users will still be able to see the likes and comments.
Can you chat with them?
If someone has blocked you on Facebook, you can send them a message but they won’t receive it on Messenger.
If you see a “You can’t reply to this conversation” message at the bottom of the chat window, either the person has blocked you or they’ve deactivated their profile.
If the person has blocked you then you won’t be able to message them but still will be able to see their profile picture. If the person has deactivated their profile, then you won’t see a profile picture, unless it has been removed.
Can you tag or see them?
Neither of you will be able to tag each other in posts or comments. If a mutual friend has tagged the person who blocked you, their tag won’t be visible to them, and vice-versa.
Can you view Stories?
No, you won’t be able to view their Stories either and they won’t be able to see yours. This is true for both Facebook and Messenger.
What about Mutual Groups?
Both of you will remain a member of any mutual groups you had before unless one of you decides to leave. You’ll also be able to see posts and comments that the person who has blocked you publishes on the mutual group.
Will you automatically become friends again on FB once unblocked?
No, you won’t. When someone blocks you Facebook, they also unfriend you and unless one of you sends a friend request after the block has been rescinded, you won’t be friends on the platform anymore.
Check via Manage Blocking setting
You can also search for the person’s name through the Manage Blocking settings of your Facebook profile.
Once you’re there, search for the person’s name in the box beside Block users and if you find them in the list but you can’t find them otherwise on Facebook, then you’re blocked. If you don’t find their name in this list either, then they’ve deactivated their Facebook profile.