Canada-based Kik Messenger is one of the most popular anonymous instant messaging services, which allows users to join in via merely an email ID on their Android and iOS apps. Founded in 2009, Kik enjoys a niche userbase, majorly owed to its anonymous sign-up offering.
Much like any other instant messaging app, social network or basically any community-based platform allows the consumers to block others on the platform if they don’t want to be contacted by them. Naturally, the person who has been blocked isn’t notified of the same by Kik.
If you’ve had a fight with one of your friends or people you’ve met on Kik or for whatever reason fear that someone might’ve blocked you, but you aren’t sure yet, here are a few ways you can find out if someone has blocked you on Kik.
One of the first tells that someone has blocked you on Kik Messenger is that they stop replying. While they can stop replying even without blocking you, once someone has blocked you on Kik, your messages won’t be delivered to them. And since they won’t receive your messages, they can’t really reply to them either.
Any messages from bots that you’ve added to the chat won’t be delivered to them either. They won’t see bot mentions if you’ve been blocked.
Even in Kik groups where you both are a member, they won’t be able to see your messages; instead, **Blocked Message** will appear.
What can you access even when blocked by someone on Kik?
Even after you’ve been blocked, you’ll still be able to see that person’s profile picture and any changes they make to it in the future.
If you know the person who has blocked you, it would make sense to just talk to them calmly in-person; unless you’ve done something that has strained your relations so far that they don’t want to see you either.
If you want to see a list of all the people you’ve blocked, go to your app’s Settings > Privacy > Block List. You can block more people or unblock someone on Kik using this list too.
To block someone, you can also go to your chat with them, tap on their name at the top of the chat, then tap on More icon > Block (username) > Block.
Also read: What happens when you block someone on Kik?
Yatharth believes social media is the coolest thing to have happened to humankind — connecting across borders. He writes about Apple, gaming and social platforms and also indulges in offbeat tech stuff from time to time.
Contact Yatharth via email: [email protected]