Skip to content

How to know if someone stopped sharing location?

  • by
  • 3 min read

iPhones bring together great hardware with well-made software that covers just about everything an iPhone user might want to do on their phone. This also includes a number of safety features including sharing your location with family members among other things. However, these features can be a bit invasive of your privacy and hence, Apple does allow users to disable them if they want.

In this article, we’re taking a look at how to know if someone has stopped sharing their location with you on your iPhone.

Also read: What does ‘no location found’ mean?


What is iPhone location sharing?

Apple’s Find My network can be used for more than just locating lost devices. It also shows the locations of family members or other users that have shared their location with you. To check these settings, follow these steps.

  • Open your iPhone’s settings and tap your Apple ID at the top.
  • Tap Find My
  • Here you’ll be able to see who can see your location under the Family section. Alternatively, you can also control whether or not you want to share your location using the Share my Location slider. 

If you want to individually control who gets to see your location, you can tap a specific Apple ID account under the Family section and disable location sharing with them. Do keep in mind that all location sharing on your phone is centralised, except when shared by a third-party app like Whatsapp. 

These settings can also be adjusted using the Find My or even iMessage app. Alternatively, you can check out our guide on how to pause location sharing on the Find My network here


How to know if someone’s not sharing their location?

In case someone’s not sharing their location with you anymore, they won’t appear in your Find My map. You can check this by simply opening the Find My app and looking for a specific person’s location. If you see a prompt stating Not Sharing Location. Online, the user in question has disabled location sharing with you. 

If the user is not sharing their location at all or their phone is otherwise powered off or doesn’t have a GPS signal at the time, the prompt will just read Not Sharing Location instead. 

Also read: What is the difference between ‘No location found’ and ‘No location available’?

Yadullah Abidi

Yadullah Abidi

Yadullah is a Computer Science graduate who writes/edits/shoots/codes all things cybersecurity, gaming, and tech hardware. When he's not, he streams himself racing virtual cars. He's been writing and reporting on tech and cybersecurity with websites like Candid.Technology and MakeUseOf since 2018. You can contact him here: yadullahabidi@pm.me.

>