Snapchat is a rather popular messaging app primarily because of its privacy-focused features, including disappearing messages and screenshot notifications. However, you can also use Snapchat to share as much as your live location anytime you’re using the app.
Obviously, not everyone would want their live location broadcasted to their entire friend list every time they open Snapchat. So to counter this, Snapchat also has a ghost mode, which essentially blocks out the live location sharing feature.
In this article, we’re talking about Snapchat’s ghost mode and how to tell if one of your friends currently has the feature enabled.
How to tell if someone is on Ghost Mode?
The whole point of having ghost mode enabled is to make sure that your friends don’t get to know. So if any of your friends have ghost mode enabled, you won’t necessarily be able to tell if they’re using the feature.
However, if your friend usual shares their location, is sending snaps or posting stories, but you can see them on the Snap Map, chances are they’ve got the ghost mode feature enabled.
On the flip side, if you’ve enabled ghost mode, you still will be able to see any of your friends’ locations provided they don’t have the feature enabled. Your bitmoji will appear on the map in your current location with a blue ghost icon over it, but no one else will be able to see this. You can either enable the ghost mode for a limited time or keep it turned on indefinitely.
One thing to keep in mind is that while your location won’t be visible, any snap stories you post publicly will still be visible regardless of what setting you have enabled for location sharing.