Skip to content

How to unblock someone on Google Chat?

  • by
  • 3 min read

Google chat which was known as Hangouts is a communication service developed by Google, it is free to use for teams, businesses or even personal use. There are times when you have blocked someone for some reason or blocked someone by mistake and want to unblock them.

In this article, we have discussed how to unblock someone on Google Chat through the web and mobile app in a few simple steps.

Also read: What happens when you unblock someone on Snapchat?


Unblocking someone on Google Chat through the web

If you have blocked someone on Google Chat because of some reason or you have blocked them by mistake and now you want to unblock them, then follow the steps below.

Step 1: Open the Google chat and then click on the Settings (Gear) icon to open the chat settings.

Step 2: In the chat settings, scroll down and find Blocked users, under blocked users click on Manage blocked users.

Step 3: On a new page all the users that you have blocked will be listed, click on the Cross (X) beside the name of the profile you want to unblock. It will remove them from the list and unblock them.

Also read: How to unblock someone on Pinterest?


Unblocking someone on Google Chat through the mobile app

If you use Google Chat mobile app and blocked someone by mistake or for some other reason and want to unblock them now, then follow the steps below.

  • Tap on the Menu (Triple horizontal lines) button located at the top left corner of the screen to open the menu.
  • Tap on the Settings option.
  • Tap on Manage blocked users in Chat option under the Manage blocking section.
  • On a new page all the users that you have blocked will be listed, click on the Cross (X) beside the name of the profile you want to unblock. It will remove them from the list and unblock them.

Does blocking someone delete the chat too?

No, blocking someone on Google Chat will not delete the chat. When you unblock the profile all the chats will come back to your inbox.

Also read: If you unblock someone on Instagram, will they know?

>