Skip to content

How to unread messages on Instagram?

Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms around the moment, and it keeps evolving into a better version of itself as we go along. While the platform was initially quite restricted in how users interacted with each other, eventually, Instagram added an option to message other users called DM or Direct Messages. 

Now Instagram isn’t a full-blown messaging application. DMs are more like an added feature rather than the purpose of the app. This means that the app is missing a lot of features you’ll find in dedicated messaging apps such as Whatsapp, Telegram or Signal. The platform has been working on bridging this gap, but a few essential features remain missing.

In this article, we’re taking a look at how to unread messages on Instagram.

Also read: Instagram says I have a message but I don’t: 7 Fixes


Unread messages on Instagram

Unless you’re running a business account, there’s no official way to unread messages on Instagram. Once you open a conversation, that message is marked read, and the other person will see a small ‘Seen’ notification under the last text they sent. 

The unread feature arrived last year to business accounts as well. However, if you’re using a personal account, there is a workaround you can use. 

Unreading messages on a business account

If you’re using a business account on Instagram, here’s how you can mark a message as unread.

  • Head over to your DMs and tap and hold the conversation you want to mark as unread.
  • You’ll see a few options show up, tap the Mark as Unread option and you’re good to go. 

Note that this applies to both the General and Primary inboxes that you see on business accounts. 


Unreading messages on a personal account

If you’re using a regular Instagram account, unread messages isn’t an option. What you can do instead is restrict the other person. Keep in mind that while this removes the ‘Seen’ notification from their messages, it also restricts you from messaging them unless you revert the change. 

Check out our detailed guide for more information on what restricting someone on Instagram means and how you can restrict a profile. 

Also read: Why won’t Instagram let me follow people? 8 Fixes

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. We're an ad-supported publication. So, if you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

We may earn a commission if you buy something from a link on this page. Thanks for your support.







>