Skip to content

Ultimate guide to Naruto Shippuden filler episodes

  • by
  • 4 min read

Naruto Shippuden, the long-running sequel to the popular anime Naruto, boasts an epic storyline filled with unforgettable characters and thrilling battles. However, nestled amongst the canon content lie nearly 200 filler episodes – stories that deviate from the manga source material. While some might consider these episodes a slog, others offer a chance to delve deeper into the Naruto universe.

This guide lists the Naruto Shippuden’s filler episodes to help you navigate through them and the filler arcs that you can watch.

What are Filler episodes?

Filler episodes are anime-original stories created to bridge gaps between manga chapters or maintain a consistent episode schedule. Naruto Shippuden, with its extended run time, utilises a significant amount of filler content.

Also read: Top 7 action anime movies

Should you skip Filler episodes?

The decision to skip filler episodes is entirely up to you. Here’s a breakdown to help you decide:

  • Focus on main story: If you want to strictly follow the plot of the manga, skipping fillers is recommended.
  • Character development: Some filler arcs delve into the backstories and personalities of side characters, which can be enriching.
  • Lighthearted fun: Filler episodes often offer a break from the intense story with comedic moments or lighthearted adventures.

Also read: Top 7 sites to read manga

List of Filler episodes

Here is the list of al filler episodes of Naruto: Shippuden

EpisodeEpisode or Arc title
57 – 71Twelve Guardian Ninja
89 – 112Three-Tails’ Appearance
144 – 151Six-Tails Unleashed
170 – 171Big Adventure! The Quest for the Fourth Hokage’s Legacy
176 – 196Past Arc: The Locus of Konoha
223 – 242Paradise Life on a Boat
257 – 260Naruto & Sasuke flashback mini arc
271Road to Sakura
279 – 281Fourth Shinobi World War side stories
284 – 295Fourth Shinobi World War side stories
303 – 320Fourth Shinobi World War side stories
347 – 361Kakashi: Shadow of the ANBU Black Ops
376The Directive to Take the Nine Tails
377Naruto Vs. Mecha Naruto
388My First Friend
389The Adored Elder Sister
390Hanabi’s Decision
394 – 413In Naruto’s Footsteps: The Friends’ Paths
416The Formation of Team Minato
417You’ll Be My Backup
422 – 428Birth of the Ten-Tails’ Jinchūriki side stories
429 – 430Killer B Rappūden
431To See That Smile, Just One More Time
432 – 450Jiraiya Shinobi Handbook: The Tale of Naruto the Hero
464 – 468Ashura and Indra Arc
480 – 483Childhood

In total, filler episodes make up 205 out of the 500 episodes in Naruto: Shippuden. While not exactly half, it still represents 41% of the entire series. Analysing the episode list reveals where the creators of the anime faced challenges in adapting the manga, particularly around the hundred-episode mark when filler content becomes more prevalent. Both Naruto and Naruto: Shippuden have gained notoriety for their filler episodes, with the original series also containing approximately 40% filler episodes.

Here are the filler arcs that you can watch:

  • Kakashi: Shadow of the ANBU Black Ops (Episodes 347-361): This arc explores Kakashi Hatake’s past as a member of the ANBU, offering valuable insight into his character.
  • Twelve Guardian Ninja (Episodes 57-71): This arc introduces a new threat and expands on the world-building of Naruto.
  • Three-Tails’ Appearance (Episodes 89-112): This arc introduces a new tailed beast and explores the dynamics between Naruto and his fellow jinchuriki.

Ultimately, the choice of whether to watch filler episodes in Naruto Shippuden is yours. With this guide, you can make an informed decision and enjoy your journey through the world of Naruto.

Also read: Top 7 Anime series on Netflix for binge sessions

Akash Singh

Akash Singh

Akash is a law graduate who likes to go for bike rides on the weekends soul-searching for answers to his many existential questions. You can contact him here: