Blocking a person on Messenger becomes necessary when things are going out of hand. Social Media has its perks, but sometimes you can also see a dark side of social media. If you are receiving spam messages from unknown persons, or some other unsafe activity, you can always block that person on Messenger.
In this article, we will explain precisely that. Do read the article till the end to get an idea.
What will happen when you block someone on Messanger?
The following things will happen after you have blocked a person on Messenger:
- The person whom you have blocked will not be able to send messages or call via this platform.
- You cannot connect with that person on this platform.
- If you and that person are added in a group, you will be notified beforehand. If you choose to enter the group, then you can that person can see each other’s messages like a normal conversation.
- Remember, blocking a person on Messenger doesn’t mean that the person is blocked on Facebook. To understand how to block someone on Facebook, click here.
Also read: How to block emails on AOL?
Block someone on Messenger (Android)
- Open Messenger app and then tap on the Chats option at the bottom.
- Now, long press on the conversation that you want to block.
- After that, select the hamburger icon.
- Choose Block and then select Block on Messenger to block that person on Messenger. You can also block that person on Facebook by tapping on the Block on Facebook option.
Also read: How to block emails on Outlook?
Block someone on Messenger (iOS)
Here are the steps to block someone on Messenger for iOS.
- On the Chats Window, long press on the chat with the contact whom you wish to block.
- A few options will slide-in from the right. Tap on the hamburger (three horizontal bars) menu icon.
- From the menu, tap on Block (username).
- Then on the next page, tap on the toggle button beside Block on Messenger.
- Then on the pop-up confirmation window, tap on Block.
Note that you can also block the user on Facebook via the Messenger using these steps. Once you’ve blocked the user, your conversations till now will stay in the Chats window; you can swipe to hide it though.