AOL is a Verizon-owned online portal and service provider. The company was founded in 1985 and is currently one of the top media publishing companies.
In this article, we explain how you can delete your AOL account. But first, let us start with some of the important points that you should know before deleting the account.
- After you have deleted the account, all the data will be removed from the servers. If you have some important data that you would like to retain, download the data from the servers.
- If you have more than one AOL account, you will have to delete each account individually.
- You cannot close the master username at once. You will have to first close all the additional usernames as well as designated master usernames.
- If you have a paid subscription, then you can remove your account only after the remaining balance is finished. Also, you will have to wait for 90 days after you have cancelled the paid subscriptions.
- If you share a payment method with a different account, then you will have to first close the account that doesn’t have a unique payment method. Or, you can assign a different payment method to the other account.
Also read: How to delete an OLX ad?
Delete AOL account
Here are the steps to delete your AOL account. Sign in with your AOL account and follow the steps mentioned below.
Step 1: Now, go to the AOL account termination page from here (You can access this page via a browser on a PC or smartphone).
Step 2: Click on Delete my account option at the bottom.
Usually, the account data and username will be deleted in 30 days. However, if you are living in Australia, India or New Zealand, the time period is approximately 90 days. For countries like Brazil, Hong Kong and Taiwan, this period is extended to 180 days.
If you want to recover the account, you can sign within the specified time period as per your country.
Also read: How to delete your Twitter account?
Former Senior Editor at Candid.Technology. Hemant has a keen interest in social issues and international relations.