Skip to content

How to delete viewing history on Netflix and clear the ‘Continue Watching’ list

Started as an online movie (DVD) rental service in 1997, Netflix has come a long way as it currently caters content to more than 139 million paid subscribers in 190 countries worldwide, who consume hundreds of millions of hours of content every day.

If you’re sharing a Netflix account with someone else but wish to maintain discretion about your viewing history, here is a simple way to delete your viewing history on Netflix and also get rid of a title from your ‘Continue Watching’ list.

Also read: What is the Download Limit for Netflix and tips & tricks

How to delete viewing history on Netflix?

Follow the steps below to delete a title from ‘Viewing Activity’ from Netflix. Sign in to Netflix.com or open the Netflix app on your device.

How to delete viewing history and 'Continue Watching' list on Netflix

  • Click/tap on the More button — located at the bottom right on the app and top-right on PC.
  • Select the profile from which you wish to delete the viewing history.
  • Click on Settings > Account Details on PC | Tap on Account on the app.

How to delete viewing history and 'Continue Watching' list on NetflixYou’ll be redirected to your account page in the default browser of your device. Once there, scroll down and find and click on ‘Viewing Activity’ under ‘My Profile’.

How to delete viewing history and 'Continue Watching' list on NetflixNow you’ll be able to view all of the video titles you’ve watched on Netflix in reverse chronological order. Click on the icon located on the right of each title to delete it from viewing history. If you delete a title that is an episode from a series, you’ll also be presented with an option to delete the entire series from the viewing activity list.

How to delete viewing history and 'Continue Watching' list on NetflixOnce you click on the icon, Netflix shows the following message: “Within 24 hours <name of the series you’ve deleted> will no longer appear in the Netflix service as a title you have watched and will no longer be used to make recommendations to you, unless you watch it again.”

How to delete viewing history and 'Continue Watching' list on Netflix

You can also delete your entire viewing history at once. Scroll to the bottom of the ‘Viewing Activity’ page, find and click on ‘Hide All’.

Note: It may take upto 24 hours for the titles to stop appearing on all of your connected devices. Also, you cannot hide titles on a ‘Kids’ profile.’

How to delete viewing history and 'Continue Watching' list on NetflixOnce you’ve deleted a title from your viewing history, recommendations shown to you by Netflix based on that particular title will also disappear and won’t appear until you watch the deleted series again.

How to delete a title from the ‘Continue Watching’ list on Netflix?

Just follow the steps mentioned above to reach the ‘Viewing Activity’ page. Search for the series/movies you wish to remove from the ‘Continue Watching’ list and delete them following the steps mentioned above. Within 24 hours, the title will stop appearing in your ‘Continue Watching’ list.

How to delete viewing history and 'Continue Watching' list on NetflixTip: You can also find out which devices have been used to access your Netflix account, alongwith the time/date stamp and IP address. To view the list, click on ‘Recent Device Streaming Activity‘ under ‘Settings’. In case you find a device that you do not recognise, you can either ‘Manage download devices’ from your account settings or ‘Sign out of all devices’.

Also read: Top 25 Netflix Originals you must binge on


Featured image by Thibault Penin


Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. If you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on linkedin
Share on pocket
Share on pinterest
Share on telegram
Share on stumbleupon
Share on digg
Share on tumblr
Share on email
Share on skype
Share on xing
Share on vk
Share on odnoklassniki
Share on mix








>