Skip to content

How to hide your story on Instagram?

Stories have quickly become the default way of sharing things on Instagram for a lot of us. They’re easy to post, you can quickly check who has seen them, people can get in touch with you from your stories, and they disappear after 24 hours.

However, what do you do when you want to hide your Instagram story from someone? In this article, we’re going over two methods to hide your story on Instagram. 

Also read: How to know if someone muted you on Instagram?


How to hide Instagram story from a few people?

Follow these steps if you want to post a public story but only want to hide it from a few people.

  • Open the Instagram app and tap the add button on your profile picture in the top left. 
  • Tap the settings gear icon in the top left.
  • Tap Story.
  • Under Hide Story From, tap the number of people already there (should be zero in case you’re doing this for the first time.
  • Select the people you want to hide your story from.

Now you can hide your story from as many of your followers as possible. This means that if you want only a specific person to see your stories, you can do it. It’s just going to take a lot of time going over every follower. People won’t be alerted when you’ve hidden your stories from them, so you can go ahead and do this without worry.


How to show Instagram story to selected people?

Alternatively, if you use the Close Friends feature in Instagram, you can hide your story from everyone except the people you choose. Do keep in mind, though, that the people watching your story will be notified, and they’ll see a close friends badge on the top right of your story. 

Here’s how to do this.

  • Open the Instagram app and tap the add button on your profile picture in the top left. 
  • Tap the settings gear icon in the top left.
  • Tap Story.
  • Under Close Friends,tap the number of people already there (should be zero in case you’re doing this for the first time.
  • Select everyone you want to show your stories. Tap Create List when you’re done.

Once you’re done, make sure to post your stories using the Close Friends button at the bottom left. 

Also read: How to react to messages on Instagram?

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. We're an ad-supported publication. So, if you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.







>