With over a billion active users, Instagram is one of the most popular social networks worldwide. Although it began as a photo-sharing platform more than a decade ago, Instagram forayed into a full-fledged social media platform after Facebook acquired it for $1 billion in 2012. It is now a popular space for creators with new and upcoming monetisation opportunities,
However, as the number of creators on Instagram has grown over the past few years and new ones keep sprouting up, the array of posts on your feed could make the entire experience a bit too overwhelming. The Facebook-owned service offers several tools to streamline and customise user experience across its apps, and one such feature is called Mute.
What happens when you mute someone on Instagram?
Instagram allows users to mute other’s posts and stories, alongside calls and message notifications. Muting post stops them from appearing on your feed, and muting stories moves them to the end of the list. Muting call or message notifications will stop Instagram from sending any alerts to you for the same.
When you mute someone on Instagram, the concerned person isn’t notified. Muting also won’t make you unfollow their profile, it’ll merely stop pushing updates related to the concerned person’s posts, story, calls and messages to you.
Also read: How to mute and umute someone on Instagram?
How to know if someone has muted you?
As mentioned above, Instagram doesn’t notify a user when someone has muted their profile. So, there is no clear way of telling if someone has muted you. However, there are a few signs that could indicate that you’ve been muted.
If the other person has suddenly stopped engaging with your posts, stories and messages — liking, commenting or replying. To make sure they’re active on Instagram, you can check if they’re still liking or commenting on other people’s posts.
Even if you’ve been muted, you’ll still be able to see the other person’s posts, stories and send messages or call them. They won’t see your posts or stories in the feed but can visit your profile to view them. They won’t get notified if you message or call them but will view these too via their inbox.
Mute vs Block on Instagram
|If you mute someone, you can still see their posts and stories via their profile, and they can also see your posts and stories.||If you block someone, they can’t see your posts and stories, and you won’t be able to see their profile either.|
|You can still send messages and call someone you’ve muted. They can send messages and call you too; however, you won’t be notified about the same.||You can’t send a message to someone you’ve blocked, and any messages they send won’t be delivered to you.|
|If you mute someone, they’ll still be able to view and comment on your posts.||If you block someone, they can’t view or comment on your posts.|
Mute vs Restrict on Instagram
|If you mute someone they can still view and comment on your posts. These comments will be visible to you and everyone else viewing your post’s comment thread.||Restricted users can still view your posts and comment on them, however that comment is only visible to them and you. If you wish, you can make that comment public or delete it altogether.|
|You can still send messages and call someone you’ve muted. They can send messages and call you too, however you won’t be notified about the same. Their messages stay in the main inbox.||If a person you’ve restricted sends you a message, you won’t be notified either and that message goes into the Message Request section of the inbox.|
|Anyone you’ve muted can still see your Instagram activity, including if you’re active.||Restricted profiles can’t see your Instagram activity, including your active status.|
Mute vs Unfollow on Instagram
|If you mute someone, you can still see their posts and stories via their profile and they can also see your posts and stories.||If you unfollow someone, you’ll only be able to see their posts and story if their profile is public. If their profile is private, you’ll have to follow them again to view the content.|
Moreover, if they’re still following you, they’ll be able to see your posts and stories and comment on them too.