Skip to content

How to forget a WiFi network on Mac?

  • by
  • 4 min read
Photo: Farknot Architect / Shutterstock.com

Photo: Farknot Architect / Shutterstock.com

If you carry your Mac everywhere, it is likely connected to various WiFi networks, both private and public. macOS remembers these networks, so if your Mac comes across them again, it will automatically connect without requiring you to choose them or enter passwords manually. However, there are times when you may need to forget a particular WiFi network on your Mac; maybe you no longer use it, or you want to remove it from the list of saved networks to prioritize others.

In this article, we have discussed the steps to forget a WiFi network on macOS Ventura or later and earlier versions of macOS.

Also read: How to get Spotify on Macbook?


Forget a network on macOS Ventura or later

Below we have discussed the steps to forget a WiFi network you are currently using and the steps to forget a WiFi network that you have earlier connected with but aren’t using currently on your macOS Ventura or later.

Forget a network you are currently using on macOS Ventura or later

To forget a WiFi network you currently use on your macOS Ventura, follow the steps below.

Step 1: Click on the Apple menu, and then in the dropdown menu, click on the System Settings option.

Step 2: In the system settings, click on the WiFi option available in the sidebar. Click on the Triple horizontal dots icon beside the network you want to forget.

Step 3: Click on the Forget This Network option in the dropdown menu.

Step 4: Then click on the Remove button to confirm.

Alternatively, you can access WiFi settings through the toolbar shortcut on the top-right of your desktop.

Also read: Fix: Your account doesn’t allow editing on a Mac


Forget a network you have earlier connected with but aren’t using on macOS Ventura or later

To forget a WiFi network you have connected with but aren’t using on your macOS Ventura, follow the steps below.

Step 1: Click on the Apple menu, then click on the System Settings option in the dropdown menu.

Step 2: In the system settings, click the WiFi option in the sidebar.

Step 3: On the right side, scroll down, look for the Advanced button and then click on it to see the WiFi networks you connected with earlier.

Step 4: Click the Details button beside the network you use and want to forget.

Step 5: Click on the Remove button to confirm.


Forget a network on earlier versions of macOS

To forget a WiFi network on earlier macOS versions, follow the steps below.

Step 1: Click on the Apple menu, then click on the System Preferences option in the dropdown menu.

Step 2: Click on the Network option.

Step 3: Now, click on the WiFi option in the sidebar and then click on the Advanced button at the screen’s bottom right corner.

Step 4: Click on the network you want to forget from the list and click on the Remove (minus sign) button below the list.

Step 5: Click on the Remove button to confirm.

Step 6: Now, click on the OK button and then click on Apply button.

Also read: How to crop an image on Mac?

nv-author-image

Akash Singh

Akash is a law graduate who likes to go for bike rides on the weekends soul-searching for answers to his many existential questions. You can contact him here: [email protected]

>