Skip to content

How to unfollow someone on Facebook?

Facebook is by far one of the most popular social media networks out there. Unfortunately, the platform has an insane amount of users signed up, and it’s really easy to get mixed up among the people you’re following.

However, if you’d like to stop seeing someone’s content on your timeline, here’s how you can unfollow them on Facebook. Note that unfollowing someone only means you won’t see their content on your timeline. You’ll still be friends with them.

Also read: Facebook Page vs Facebook Group: Which one suits your needs more?


Unfollow someone on Facebook from the browser

If you’re browsing Facebook on your PC, there are a couple of ways you can unfollow someone.

By heading over to their profile

Step 1: Open Facebook and head over to their profile. You can use the search bar in the top left to look for them.

How to unfollow someone on Facebook? | Candid.Technology

Step 2: Click on the Friends button right next to the three horizontal dots.

How to unfollow someone on Facebook? | Candid.Technology

Step 3: Click Unfollow to unfollow them. You also have the option to either unfriend or favourite their profile. 

How to unfollow someone on Facebook? | Candid.Technology

Unfollowing someone from News Feed Preferences

You can also unfollow people by managing your News Feed preferences.

Step 1: Head over to your profile and click the down arrow in the top right. Click on Settings and Privacy.

How to unfollow someone on Facebook? | Candid.Technology

Step 2: Click News Feed preferences.

How to unfollow someone on Facebook? | Candid.Technology

Step 3: Click Unfollow.

How to unfollow someone on Facebook? | Candid.Technology

Step 4: Now select the profiles you want to unfollow. Keep in mind that you can unfollow people, pages or other groups.

How to unfollow someone on Facebook? | Candid.Technology

Note that as mentioned above, unfollowing someone isn’t the same as unfriending or blocking them. If you unfollow someone, you merely stop seeing their content. However, unfriending someone removes them from your friend’s list and hides any private content you have.

Blocking is the harshest step of three, which completely hides your profile from whoever you block. As a result, they won’t be able to see your profile or message you on Facebook. Read our guide here to know what happens when you block someone on Facebook.

You can also snooze people to unfollow them temporarily. What this feature does is essentially unfollows people for a given period of time, hiding their content from your timeline until the timer runs out.

Also read: How to know if someone has blocked you on Facebook?


Unfollow someone on the Facebook app

If you’re on the Facebook app, follow these steps to unfollow someone.

  • Open Facebook and head over to their profile.
  • Tap the three horizontal dots on their cover image.
  • Tap Unfollow to unfollow the person.

Alternatively, you can also unfollow someone from a post of theirs on your timeline. Here’s how. 

How to unfollow someone on Facebook? | Candid.Technology
  • Tap on the three horizontal dots on the top right of the post.
  • Tap Unfollow to unfollow the person.

You can also do the same on any web browser on the PC.

Also read: Why is Facebook not working? 7 Fixes

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. If you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on linkedin
Share on pocket
Share on pinterest
Share on telegram
Share on stumbleupon
Share on digg
Share on tumblr
Share on email
Share on skype
Share on xing
Share on vk
Share on odnoklassniki
Share on mix








>