Skip to content

How to recover your Snapchat account?

The constant flow of information can make social networks quite overwhelming at times and Snapchat is no different. If you had deactivated or requested the deletion of your account, or got your Snapchat account locked due to an issue — security or otherwise — you can try to recover your Snapchat account.

If your account has been locked due to violation of community guidelines or a security issue, you can see how to unlock it in our detailed guide here, which points out all the reasons your Snapchat account might be locked and how you can unlock it in a few simple steps.

However, if you’ve deleted or deactivated your Snapchat account and want to recover it, here is how you can reactivate your Snapchat account.

Also read: How to delete a story on Snapchat?

Restoring your Snapchat account

Snapchat doesn’t delete your account instantly. Upon request, your account will first be deactivated for 30 days, during which period you can reactivate it simply by logging back into the Snapchat app with your existing username.

It’s important to note that you can only use your username and password to recover the Snapchat account and not your email address. If your account is deactivated, you can’t change your password either.

If you don’t want to permanently delete your account yet, reactivate it by logging in to the Snapchat app within 30 days of requesting account deletion.

Note that sometimes reactivation of an account can take up to 24 hours. If you have a verified email ID attached to your account, Snapchat will send you an email when your account is ready for use. Check out the screenshot below for reference.

How to deactivate and delete your Snapchat account? 

Tap on the Yes button to reactivate your Snapchat account and then wait for the confirmation on your email. If you haven’t added an email to your account, try to log back into the app 24 hours later.

But remember that you can only recover your Snapchat account within 30 days of deactivating it because after that your Snapchat account will be permanently deleted alongwith account data such as settings, friends, snaps, chats, story, device and location data.

Also read: How to schedule tweets on Twitter?

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. If you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on linkedin
Share on pocket
Share on pinterest
Share on telegram
Share on stumbleupon
Share on digg
Share on tumblr
Share on email
Share on delicious
Share on skype







>