Skip to content

How to delete Google Photos account?

Google Photos is an incredibly powerful tool for managing and backing up your photos, even more so if you’re using an Android. However, the advanced features also raise a bit of a privacy concern for a lot of users.

In this article, we’re going over how you can delete your Google Photos account.

Also read: Is Google Photos private? Can anyone else view your photos?

Deleting a Google Photos account

So while you can’t outright delete your Google Photos account, you can disconnect your current Google account from the Photos app and delete your photos yourself. 

Here’s how.

How to delete Google Photos account? | Candid.Technology
  • Open the Google Photos app and tap on your profile picture in the top right.
  • Tap on your account name.
  • Tap on Use without an account.

After this, any photos taken or saved on your device will not be associated with your Google account. Any photos that have been backed up before this, however, will remain in your Google Photos backup.

To get rid of these photos, you’re going to have to visit Google Photos from your browser and manually delete them by selecting any pictures you want to remove and clicking on the Delete button in the top right.

How to delete Google Photos account? | Candid.Technology

These photos will now be sent to the Trash folder where they stay for up to 60 days before being deleted permanently. If you want to get rid of them right away, you’re going to have to delete them from the trash yourself,

Also, keep in mind that you do not have to remove your Google account from the Photos app to stop it from backing up your photos from the cloud. You can simply modify the settings in the Google Pictures app to stop it from backing up any future images. 

Also read: How to fix ‘YouTube Comments Not Loading’ in Chrome?

How to disable Google Photos auto-backup feature?

Follow the steps mentioned below to disable the Back up & Sync feature of Google Photos.

How to delete Google Photos account? | Candid.Technology
  • Open the Google Photos app and tap on your profile picture in the top right.
  • Tap on Photos settings.
  • Tap on Back up & sync.
  • Toggle the Back up & sync slider off to disable all backups.

In case you’re looking to totally remove any link from your Google account and Photos app, you’re going to have to remove the Google account in question from the phone itself.

Check out this article to know how you can remove your Google account from your phone. 

Also read: How to fix the ‘Android Connected to WiFi but No Internet’ error?

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. If you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on linkedin
Share on pocket
Share on pinterest
Share on telegram
Share on stumbleupon
Share on digg
Share on tumblr
Share on email
Share on skype







>