Skip to content

What happens when you block someone on Instagram?

Instagram is one of the most immersive and engaging social media platforms and the billion-plus monthly active users from around the globe are a testament to its user experience. However, much like any other online community, social network or forum, Instagram enjoys its fair share of trolls and abusers, who can ruin your experience online.

If you’re thinking about blocking someone on Instagram but aren’t sure what exactly happens once you do that, here we’ve tried to explain all aspects of what happens when you block someone on Instagram. Note that this not only applies to blocked user profiles, but also pages on the platform.

Before we delve into the details, broadly, once you block someone on Instagram, they won’t be able to find your profile via search or view your posts and stories. The user or page won’t be notified when you block them.

Now we’ll go through all the aspects of blocking, which includes direct messages, mutual groups, likes, comments, mentions and tags.

Also read: How to tell if someone blocked you on Instagram?

Direct Messages

Any direct message conversations that you’ve had with a blocked user will remain intact in your inbox; however, you won’t be able to send them a message.

If a blocked user sends a direct message, you won’t receive them even after you unblock them.

Group Messages

If you and the user you’ve blocked share a mutual group, then Instagram will notify you and ask whether you want to leave the group. If you choose to stay, then all the messages by the blocked user will be visible to you.

Any blocked user can’t join a room you create on Instagram if they’re logged in to their account.

The Facebook-owned billion-user club

Also read: How to crosspost from Facebook to Instagram and vice-versa?

Likes and Comments

All the likes and comments of the user you’ve blocked will be deleted from your photos and videos. These deleted likes and comments won’t be restored even if you unblock the user.

Your likes and comments on posts shared by public accounts will still be visible to the user you block on Instagram.

Mentions and Tags

Blocked users can’t tag your profile or mention your username, unless they happen to know your username even after you’ve changed it after blocking them.

If you’re still not sure about blocking someone on Instagram, you can alternatively also remove them as a follower from your profile — helpful if you’ve set your Instagram profile to private — or block their comments from your uploads.

Also read: What happens when you block someone on Snapchat?

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. If you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on linkedin
Share on pocket
Share on pinterest
Share on telegram
Share on stumbleupon
Share on digg
Share on tumblr
Share on email
Share on delicious
Share on skype







>