Skip to content

What happens when you block someone on Snapchat?

Even though it has faced immense competition from the likes of Instagram, Snapchat has created a niche for itself, especially among the younger internet users. However, there’s one aspect that Snapchat hasn’t been able to wipe out completely — like any other social network — bullies, trolls and their abusive behaviour.

Now while you can engage in an argument with a troll and waste your precious time, like most of the online community, forum or social networking platforms, Snapchat also offers a neat tool to help you block another Snapchat user. You can not only use this tool to block any unsolicited advances by strangers on the platform but also block one of your friends or acquaintances.

You can block a user completely or just block them partially like from seeing your Snapchat story. However, blocking someone on Snapchat isn’t limited to them not being able to see your profile or talk to you and vice-versa. In addition to blocking someone, you can alternatively also report, remove or mute them. Here we’re going to discuss exactly what happens when you block someone on Snapchat and how it’s different from removing a friend on Snapchat.

Also read: How to see who added you on Snapchat? How to tell if someone added you back?

If you block someone on Snapchat, they won’t be able to see your Story or Charms and also won’t be able to send you Snaps or Chats on Snapchat.

If you don’t want to block a friend completely, you can either block them from viewing your Story or else remove them as a friend, which works slightly differently.

Blocking vs Removing a friend

While blocking someone on Snapchat means that they won’t be able to see any of the Story or Charms posted by you, removing someone would still allow them to see any content that you’ve set to public, including Stories and Charms. Just to clarify, once you’ve removed a friend, they won’t be able to view private stories or charms.

Also, depending on the privacy settings of your Snapchat account, removed friends might still be allowed to send you a snap or chat with you.

Removing, blocking or muting a friend will also remove them from the Stories screen.

What happens if you report someone on Snapchat?

If muting, removing or blocking the Snapchat account doesn’t work for you, you can go one step further and report the Snapchat user. Snapchat will review your report and if the user is found guilty, their account will be temporarily or permanently suspended.

Also read: How to report a Snapchat account?

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. If you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on linkedin
Share on pocket
Share on pinterest
Share on telegram
Share on stumbleupon
Share on digg
Share on tumblr
Share on email
Share on delicious
Share on skype







>