Skip to content

What is “Your screen is being observed” means? Quick Fix

  • by
  • 5 min read

Many Mac users are encountering a message that says, Your screen is being observed at the top of their screen. This message usually appears when the screen is locked, and you must enter a password to access your Mac. You might see this message on your Mac’s lock screen for a few reasons. One possibility is that you are sharing your screen with someone else or malware on your Mac is causing this message to appear.

In this article, we have discussed the causes of your screen being observed message on Mac and how you can stop it.

Also read: How to delete bookmarks from Mac? 


What causes your screen is being observed on Mac?

Below we have mentioned a few possible reasons that might be causing your screen is being observed warning on your Mac.

  • Screen sharing is on.
  • The screen recording is on.
  • Third-party apps trying to use screen recording.
  • You are using AirPlay.
  • Malware attack.

How to resolve the screen being observed issue?

If you are encountering the screen being observed warning, then we have explained a few ways that will help you get rid of the warning and keep your Mac safe.

Disable screen sharing

On macOS, you have the option to share your screen with others, either locally or remotely. When you share your screen with someone, your Mac will display a warning message saying Your screen is being observed. This warning is quite common and can easily be disabled.

To check and disable the screen sharing, follow the steps below.

Step 1: Click on the Apple menu > System Settings…

Step 2: Click on General > Sharing.

Step 3: Ensure the toggle is off beside Screen Sharing and Remote Management.


Turn off the Screen Recording

Another reason why you might see the message Your screen is being observed on your Mac’s lock screen is when you’re recording the screen. On macOS, screen recording continues even if you lock your laptop or put it to sleep.

To stop the recording and make the notification disappear, press Command + Control + Esc.


Turn off access to screen recording for suspicious third-party apps

Some third-party apps that you have installed on your Mac may be trying to access the screen, if there is any app which has access or trying to access your Mac’s screen, then it is a matter f privacy and security.

To check which app has access to screen recording, follow the steps below.

Step 1: Click on the Apple menu > System Settings…

Step 2: Click on Privacy & Security > Screen Recording.

Step 3: Unlock the padlock if required and then uncheck the boxes next to the screen recording apps. 


Turn off AirPlay

If you have recently used AirPlay to duplicate your MacBook’s screen onto another Apple device and left it on after the use, you might also encounter this warning message.

To turn off the AirPlay, follow the steps below.

Step 1: Click on the Apple menu > System Settings…

Step 2: Click on General > AirDrop & Handoff.

Step 3: Turn off the toggle beside AirPlay Receiver and enter your password to confirm the action.


Perform Malware Scans

Run a comprehensive malware scan using reputable antivirus software. This will help identify and remove any malicious programs, or spyware that may be observing your screen.

Also read: How to make Mac dark mode?

nv-author-image

Akash Singh

Akash is a law graduate who likes to go for bike rides on the weekends soul-searching for answers to his many existential questions. You can contact him here: [email protected]

>