Trello is an online collaborative tool that makes working and collaborating on projects really easy for teams. In one look, you can tell who’s working on what, what tasks are stuck, what tasks are complete and everything else you need to know to manage a productive team.
Trello works around something called a ‘board’. In this article, we’re looking at what a Trello board is and how you can close one?
What is a Trello board?
If you’ve ever worked with a team, you must know the importance of a common board to put down ideas and tasks. It could be a whiteboard or, in this case, a Trello board.
Boards in Trello are basically digital whiteboards, with each item on the board being the equivalent of a sticky note. Except you can attach files, documents and data sources from various repositories like BitBucket or Salesforce.
Since this is a digital whiteboard, you can take it with you anywhere and access it using the Trello app or from any computer that’s connected to the internet.
How to close a Trello board?
Closing a Trello board isn’t exactly super complicated; follow these simple steps.
Step 1: Open Trello and your board. Click on the Show Menu button on the right.
Step 2: Click on More.
Step 3: You’ll see the option to close the board. Click it to proceed.
Step 4: Trello will show you a warning message and ask for a confirmation. Click Close to proceed.
You’ll be greeted with this screen afterwards.
Here you can re-open the board or delete it if you have the right permissions.
Members will receive a notification when a board is closed. You’ll need to be an admin to close or re-open boards.
Note that ‘Business class’ team admins will be able to close any board in that team, even if they aren’t an admin of that particular board or the board is private.
How to delete a Trello board?
Follow Step 1 through Step 4 in the guide to close a board above and then click on the Permanently delete board option as shown below.
Deleting a board is a permanent action and you won’t be able to restore the board later; unlike when you close the board.
How to delete a closed Trello board?
If you had closed a Trello board earlier but have no need for it anymore, here is how you can delete a closed Trello board. Aforementioned, much like archiving and deleting cards, closing a board is reversible, deleting one isn’t.
Step 1: Click on the View closed boards button at the bottom of your boards page
Step 2: Click on the Delete button to permanently delete the board.