Uber eats is the food ordering service started by Uber back in August 2014. The service covers a wide variety of restaurants in various countries all over the world. On January 21, 2020, Indian food delivery app Zomato announced that is has acquired the Indian wing of Uber Eats in an all-stock transaction valued at around $350 million that gives Uber a 9.9% stake in Zomato.
This transferred all of Uber Eats operations over to Zomato. If you still have the Uber Eats app on your phone, it’ll show a message stating that their operations have now been transferred over along with a link to open Zomato.
Existing orders and accounts have also been transferred to Zomato. So if you’re looking to delete your Uber Eats account, Zomato has basically done that for you.
However, if you still wish to delete your account to make sure you’re not using Uber’s services, you can go ahead and delete your main Uber account and that’ll ensure that whatever is left of your residual Uber Eats account will also be deleted.
Also read: How to change your location in Uber?
Deleting your Uber Eats account
You can delete your Uber Eats account by deleting your main Uber account that you use for getting cabs. Here’s how to do it on the Uber phone app.
At the moment, you can only delete your account from the Uber app. There’s no option to delete your account from the Uber website.
- Tap on the hamburger menu icon in the top left.
- Tap on the Settings option.
- Tap on Privacy
- You’ll see a Delete Your Account option right at the bottom. Tap on it to proceed.
- You’ll be asked to sign in, enter your email address and tap Next.
- Enter your password and tap Next again.
- Uber will send you a four-digit OTP. Enter it and hit Verify.
Your Uber account will be deleted and alongwith it, your Uber Eats account as well.
Also read: How to schedule a ride in Uber?
Someone who writes/edits/shoots/hosts all things tech and when he’s not, streams himself racing virtual cars.
You can contact him here: [email protected]