Skip to content

What is the ‘Take a break’ on Facebook? How is it different from Unfriend and Unfollow?

Facebook is by far one of the most popular social media platforms on the planet right now. Ever since its launch in 2004, the team behind the platform has been working hard to add more features and enhance user experience to keep the platform relevant in the modern era of internet connectivity.

A lot of such new features can be confusing, however. A pretty good example of this is the unfriend, unfollow and take a break features on the platform.

In this article, we’re looking at what ‘Taking a break’ on Facebook means and how it is different from ‘unfriend’ and ‘unfollow’ so you know the right thing to do.

Also read: How to turn off People You May Know on Facebook?


What does Take a break mean on Facebook?

‘Take a break’ is a rather recent feature added to Facebook. It works pretty much like the real-life equivalent of taking a break from someone by combining the unfollow and unfriend features.

The other person is restricted from appearing on your timeline, as well as from seeing your private posts and stories. However, if your post is publicly visible, they can see and interact with it without restrictions. You also have the option to either keep, edit or delete common photos of you two.

Do keep in mind that you may not be able to take a break from just about anyone. The feature usually works with someone you’re dating. When you change your relationship status on Facebook to single, divorced or leave it blank, the option to take a break will automatically appear.

The feature lies somewhere in between unfriending and unfollowing someone. You don’t see their posts or activities popping up on your timeline, while at the same time you’re not completely getting rid of them either. Messaging each other is still an option for both sides involved.

Also read: What is Vanish mode in Facebook and Instagram?


How to take a break from someone on Facebook?

If you’re using Facebook on a desktop, follow these steps.

Step 1: Head over to the person’s Facebook profile and click on the Friends icon.

What is the 'Take a break' on Facebook? | Candid.Technology

Step 2: Depending on your closeness to the person, or any recent relationship status changes on Facebook, you’ll see the option to take a break from them in the pop-up menu.

What is the 'Take a break' on Facebook? | Candid.Technology

If you’re using the Facebook app, here’s what you need to do.

What is the 'Take a break' on Facebook? | Candid.Technology
  • Open the Facebook app and head over to the person’s profile and click on the three horizontal dots next to the Message button.
  • Tap on Friends.
  • Tap Take a Break from the pop up menu.

Alternatively, you can also either unfollow or unfriend the person using the same method. Keep in mind that these settings are not time-limited and if you wish to go back, you’ll have to do so manually. Just retrace the aforementioned steps, and you’ll be good to go.

Also read: Facebook session expired: 7 Fixes

Inputs from Yadullah Abidi and Ishika Aggarwal

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. We're an ad-supported publication. So, if you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on linkedin
Share on pocket
Share on pinterest
Share on telegram
Share on stumbleupon
Share on digg
Share on tumblr
Share on email
Share on skype
Share on xing
Share on vk
Share on odnoklassniki
Share on mix








>