Skip to content

How to cancel Netflix subscription?

Netflix is an American based online streaming and production company and is headquartered in Los Gatos, California. The company was founded in 1997 by Reed Hastings and Marc Randolph and is currently one of the most widely used streaming services in the world with over 158 million subscribers.

Netflix provides the contents in a variety of languages and also allows the users to download the content, albeit within the limits. With a minimum subscription fee, you can binge-watch your favourite seasons in one go. Recently, the company has launched a mobile plan, specifically for Indian users, for INR 199.

In this Netflix tutorial, we will explain how you can cancel the Netflix subscription without any hassle. Do read this detailed article to understand about the process.

Also read: How to change the language on Netflix?

How to cancel Netflix subscription?

You can cancel Netflix subscription in two ways — directly from the website or from the app.

Cancel Netflix Subscription via Netflix website

To cancel Netflix subscription directly from the website, follow the instructions given below.

  • Now, click on the profile picture tab located at the top right corner of the screen.
  • Select the Account option on the drop-down menu.

  • After that click on Cancel Subscription option as shown in the screenshot above.

  • Click on Finish Cancellation to give final confirmation.

Note: In case you want to restart the subscription, click on Restart Membership and you will receive a message — Your streaming plan has been restarted (as shown in the screenshot below).

Also read: How to fix high ping in Windows 10? 4 best ways explained

Cancel Netflix Subscription via the app

In case you want to cancel Netflix subscription form the app itself, follow the steps given below.

  • Open the Netflix app.
  • Tap on the More option at the bottom right of the screen.
  • Now, tap on Account.
  • After that, tap on Cancel Membership.
  • Confirm the process by clicking on Finish Cancellation.

Here also, you can restart the membership by clicking on Restart Membership option.

What will happen after you have cancelled Netflix subscription?

Once you have cancelled the subscription, you can still use Netflix until the end of the billing period. To see the billing details, go to the Account page and then click on Billing details.

Note: Even after the cancellation, Netflix will store your viewing activity, recommendations, any ratings that you have given as well as the account details for 10 months. After this period has expired without you resuming the subscription, Netflix will finally close your account. Long story short, Netflix retains your account data for 10 months after you leave its service.

Hope this article helped. We will continue to bring more such tutorials in the future.

Also Read: How to delete a Netflix profile from your account?

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. We're an ad-supported publication. So, if you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

We may earn a commission if you buy something from a link on this page. Thanks for your support.







>