Social networks make it a breeze to connect with your friends, colleagues, acquaintances and even long lost childhood buddies. While the wide appeal of Instagram is certainly a boon, it can also bring unwanted negative attention; however, unlike real life, Instagram makes it easy for people to block others.
If you’ve blocked someone or are contemplating the action, but aren’t really sure what it entails as far as DMs are concerned, here is the answer to a question frequently asked by our readers: “Does blocking someone on Instagram delete messages?”
Any direct message conversations that you’ve had with a blocked user will remain intact in your inbox; however, you won’t be able to send them a message and they can’t either.
Any messages sent by someone while you’ve blocked them won’t be delivered even after you unblock them.
What happens to direct messages when you restrict someone?
In addition to the option to block another user profile, Instagram also allows people to restrict others, which works a bit differently.
As far as DMs are concerned, when you restrict someone on Instagram, the following things happen:
- Their chat is moved to the Message Requests section.
- They can’t see when you’re online.
- They can’t see when you’ve read their message.
- You won’t receive a notification when they message.
You also won’t be able to exchange messages with a restricted account. If you want to send them a message, you’ll have to unrestrict their profile first.
Also read: What does NFS mean on Instagram?