As popular as Instagram is, certain elements cause problems for its users, as is true with any social media platform. Instagram has many features, from making user accounts private to restricting different profiles to help the user be in charge and feel safe online.
While these tools are highly effective when protecting a user, the person on the other side rarely gets an idea of what happens. Especially when a user is blocked or restricted. Instagram does not notify a person when either of these actions is taken on their profile by someone, which means it can be tough to figure out what’s going on at times.
In this article, we’re going over a few things you can look out for to know if someone on Instagram has restricted you.
What does restricting someone on Instagram mean?
Restricting someone of Instagram lets users control who can comment on their posts and what comments their other followers can see. Restricted users also can’t see whether you’re active on Instagram, and their messages are moved to the Message Requests section.
Also read: How to join a private channel on Telegram?
How to tell if you have been restricted on Instagram by someone?
You can check for a few clues to see if you have been restricted on Instagram by a specific user. Keep in mind that being restricted by someone on Instagram does not relate to that you cannot engage with other people’s content and activity over the app.
Here are a few pointers you can check to know that someone on Instagram has restricted you.
Active status is not visible
If you are suddenly unable to see the Active status of someone you have been in constant touch with over Instagram DMs, then this might be a potential sign that they have restricted you over the app.
Comment not visible
Instagram users who have restricted your activity and engagement with their platform can also restrict your comment till further action is taken. Hence, if you had previously commented on someone’s post and it is not visible, it might be because they have restricted you over the app.
Since restricting someone sends their messages straight to the Message Requests folder, the chances are that the user who restricted the profile won’t be seeing the message. If you’re DMing someone who isn’t responding for quite some time, it can indicate your profile being restricted by that person and them not seeing your messages.
Also read: How to add location on Instagram bio?