Skip to content

How to delete a list in Trello?

Trello is one of the best productivity tools that you can integrate with your team’s workflow. The utility allows you to monitor completed or pending tasks, who is working on what and exactly how much each team member contributes to the task at hand.

It also offers many options and customisation for team leaders to customise their boards exactly the way they want them and make sure their team is as productive as it can be.

In this article, we discuss what are Trello lists and how you can delete them.


What is a Trello list?

We’ve already covered Trello boards and cards in our previous articles. However, lists are the categorising tool that sits in between the two. 

You see, just as a Trello board is comparable to a whiteboard and cards to sticky notes on a board, Lists allow you to further divide these cards among team members, tasks or just about anything you want.

You can set up individual lists of each task or team member and monitor their progress or collaborations on a task simply by looking at cards inside a list. If you’re running a big team and have a bunch of cards on your boards, lists can be lifesavers. 

Also read: How to delete a card in Trello?


How to delete a Trello list?

Deleting a list isn’t exactly rocket science. All you need to do is follow these simple steps. Much like cards and boards, lists also need to be archived first before you can delete them.

As a matter of fact, lists cannot be permanently deleted from the original board. However, there’s a workaround you can use. 

Archiving a list

Step 1: Open the board from which you want to remove the list.

How to delete a list in Trello? | Candid.Technology

Step 2: Click on the three horizontal dots next to the list’s name.

How to delete a list in Trello? | Candid.Technology

Step 3: Click on Archive This List

How to delete a list in Trello? | Candid.Technology

Doing this will archive the list and hide it from the board.

To unarchive a list, go to the Board menu > More > Archived Items > Select the list > Send to Board.


Deleting a list on Trello

Deleting in Trello is permanent, and to avoid accidental deletions, Trello doesn’t allow users to delete a list in the first place. However, deleting many cards from a list can be quite tedious and hence, this workaround.

Note that you’re going to need another board for this workaround to work. So make one before you get started with the steps here.

Step 1: Click on the three horizontal dots next to the list’s name.

How to delete a list in Trello? | Candid.Technology

Step 2: Click on Move list to move the list to the second board we made for the purpose.

How to delete a list in Trello? | Candid.Technology

Now you can go ahead and delete the second board itself. Deleting the board automatically deletes everything that the board contains, including lists.

Follow our guide here to delete a board on Trello.

Also read: How to delete a card in Trello?

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. We're an ad-supported publication. So, if you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.

We may earn a commission if you buy something from a link on this page. Thanks for your support.







>