Skip to content

How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account?

Free VoIP service aimed at the gaming community, Discord, has grown to over 50 million users in under a year of its stable release, which is commendable. Still, given the rising popularity of eSports and the growing competition among companies to cater to the evergrowing online gaming community, Discord faces a lot of competition from other chatting and streaming services.

If you’re looking to switch to another platform and wish to get rid of your Discord account, we’ve put together a guide to help you delete your Discord account permanently, followed by one to reinstate your deleted Discord account. However, if you don’t wish to remove your account permanently, you can scroll to the bottom to find our guide to deactivate your Discord account.

Deleting vs Deactivating Discord account

You can either delete your Discord account permanently or deactivate it to access at a later point. To help you decide which one of the two is a better option in your, below is a brief comparison between deleting and deactivating (or disabling) your Discord account.

  • If you deactivate (disable) your Discord account, you can reactivate anytime you want, but if you delete your Discord account, you can only reinstate it within a limited period.
  • Once your account is deactivated, you won’t receive any notifications from Discord. However, your profile will still be visible, and you’ll even get friend requests, which you can accept or reject when you reactivate the account. Deleting your account is a permanent action, so you won’t receive any further notifications, and won’t receive any friend requests as your profile won’t be visible after it’s removed.

Before you deactivate or delete your Discord account, you’ll need to either remove the servers that you own or transfer their ownership to some other Discord user.

Also read: How to delete your Discord server?

How to delete your Discord account via the website?

To delete your Discord account via its website on PC or smartphone, log in to your account and follow the steps mentioned below.

Step 1: Click on the Gear (Settings) icon at the bottom of the left sidebar.How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account?Step 2: On the next page, click on the Edit button beside your Username.How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account?Step 3: The box will expand. Click on the Delete Account option.How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account? Step 4: On the pop-up dialog box, enter your Password and then click on the Delete Account button.How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account? If you’ve enabled two-factor authentication (2FA) on your Discord account, you’ll also be asked to provide the code before you can confirm account deletion.

Also read: How to delete your Quora account?

How to delete your Discord account via the smartphone app?

Launch the Discord app on your smartphone and follow the steps below to delete your Discord account.

How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account?

  • Tap on the hamburger (horizontal three-bars) icon at the top-left of the app window.
  • Then tap on the Gear (Settings) icon at the bottom of the sidebar.
  • On the next page, tap on My Account.
  • On the next page, scroll to the bottom and tap on the Delete Account option.
  • On the pop-up dialog box, enter your Password and then tap on Delete.

As mentioned above, if you’ve enabled 2FA on your Discord account, you’ll also be asked to provide the code before you can confirm account deletion.How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account? Also read: How to deactivate and delete your Snapchat account?

How to restore a deleted Discord account?

Your Discord account won’t be deleted immediately once you complete the steps above. Once you’ve requested deletion, Discord sends your account in a queue pending removal, where it’ll stay for 14 days before it’s permanently deleted.

To restore your deleted Discord account, log in to the website or app before 14 days have elapsed after you deleted your account and you’ll see a dialog box that reads: “Your account is scheduled to self-destruct soon.” followed by a button saying Return To Login and a smaller print below it, which reads: “Change your mind? Restore Account”.How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account?Click on Restore Account link and your account will be reactivated and removed from the deletion queue.

If you don’t see the dialog box, your Discord account has been permanently deleted and can’t be reinstated.

Also read: How to delete your PhonePe account?

How to deactivate your Discord account?

If you don’t want to delete your Discord account permanently and would like to access it at a later point, you can deactivate your Discord account by choosing the Disable Account option instead of Delete Account in Step 3 and 4 above for PC and smartphone app, respectively. For your clarity, alternative screenshots have been given below for deactivating your Discord account via the website and app.

To reactivate your account, all you need to do is log back in via the website or the app and your account will be restored.

Deactivate Discord account via the smartphone app

Launch the Discord app on your smartphone and follow the steps below to delete your Discord account.

How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account?

  • Tap on the hamburger (horizontal three-bars) icon at the top-left of the app window.
  • Then tap on the Gear (Settings) icon at the bottom of the sidebar.
  • On the next page, tap on My Account.
  • On the next page, scroll to the bottom and tap on the Disable Account option.
  • On the pop-up dialog box, enter your Password and then tap on Disable.

How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account?As is the case when deleting your Discord account, If you’ve enabled 2FA on your Discord account, you’ll also be asked to provide the code before you can confirm account deactivation.

Also read: How to deactivate or delete your Twitch account?

Deactivate Discord account via the website on PC

To disable your Discord account via its website on PC or smartphone, log in to your account and follow the steps mentioned below.

Step 1: Click on the Gear (Settings) icon at the bottom of the left sidebar.How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account?Step 2: On the next page, click on the Edit button beside your Username.How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account?Step 3: The box will expand. Click on the Disable Account option.How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account? Step 4: On the pop-up dialog box, enter your Password and then click on the Disable Account button.How to delete your Discord account? And how to restore deleted account? Also read: How to deactivate or delete your Badoo account?

Hello There!

If you like what you read, please support our publication by sharing it with your friends, family and colleagues. We're an ad-supported publication. So, if you're running an Adblocker, we humbly request you to whitelist us.







>